Delivering Sustained Success
Countries Regional
  • Blog Header


Gaining New Business Horizon by Adopting ISO/TS 16949:2009

Posted on August 18, 2011 in Articles

The automotive industry Quality Management System (QMS) consists of ISO/TS 16949 standard and the related customer-specific requirements (CSR).

• The 3rd edition is the latest version and it was published on the 15th of June 2009.  It has been
   technically updated to align with ISO 9001:2008 Standard.  The previous revision was based on ISO

• Customer-Specific Requirement (CSR) is the additional requirement imposed by the OEM.  These
   requirements will form part of the audit criteria during the certification & internal audits.

ISO/TS 16949:2008 was developed by IATF (International Automotive Task Force) members and approved by ISO (International Organization for Standardization) for publication.  It is an industry specific Quality Management System (QMS) caters for automotive industries with the following objectives:
a)  Promote continue improvement
b) Emphasis defect prevention, and
c) Continual waste and variation reduction.

Overview of ISO/TS 16949
The Standard is based on ISO 9001:2008 standard with additional common automotive industry requirements.  The requirements are encompassed in 5 clauses, namely
a) Quality Management System,
b) Management Responsibility,
c) Resource Management,
d) Product Realisation,
e) Measurement, Analysis & Improvement.

Exclusion to the requirements is only limited to the product design & development processes.

Organisations that spearheading for certification must be parts of the automotive supply chain that provides value added activities or services to their customers.  The term “automotive” include cars, buses, trucks, motorbikes but exclude special purpose vehicle such as tractors for agricultural purposes.  Producers of automotive after-market products or providers of support services such as warehousing, transportation, calibration and others are not eligible for certification.  Scope of certification includes site where value added activities are performed as well as remote locations if any where support services are provided.

The ISO/TS 16949 Standard was an international effort to develop a common Quality Management System for automotive industry.  It was initially presented as an alternative to those organisations that were certified to US9000, VDA 6.1, AVSQ and EAQF.  However, with the retirement of QS 9000, AVSQ and EQFQ in recent year, more and more companies have chosen to be certified with ISO/TS 16949.

New Business Opportunity through ISO/TS 16949
It is part of the common procurement requirement among the IATF members that all their suppliers, especially tier-1 suppliers shall be certified to ISO/TS 16949.  JAMA strongly encourages their members’ suppliers to be certified to the ISO/TS 16949.  In recent years, more are more OEMs (besides IATF and JAMA members) are encouraging or has made it part of the procurement requirements that require their suppliers to be 3rd party certified to ISO/TS 16949, one of those examples is Proton in Malaysia.


1. IATF members include the following vehicle manufacturers: BMW Group, Chrysler Group LLC, Daimler AG, Fiat Group
    Automobiles, Ford Motor Company, General Motors Corporation (including Opel Vauxhall), PSA Peugeot-Citroen,
    Renault, Volkswagen AG and the vehicle manufacturers respective trade associations - AIAG (U.S.), ANFIA (Italy), FIEV
    (France), SMMT (U.K.) and VDA (Germany)

2. JAMA members include the following vehicle manufacturers: Daihatsu Motor Co., Ltd, Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd., Hino
    Motors, Ltd., Honda Motor Co., Ltd., Isuzu Motors Ltd., Kawasaki Heavy Industries, Ltd., Mazda Motor Corporation,
    Mitsubishi Motors Corporation, Mitsubishi Fuso Truck & Bus Corporation, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd., Suzuki Motor
    Corporation, Toyota Motor Corporation, UD Trucks Corporation, and Yamaha Motor Co., Ltd.

Global Adoption
At the end of June 2010, a total of 42,189 certificates were issued to ISO/TS 16949.  Asia Pacific region accounted for the biggest number of certificates issued - 16,585 (47%).  Among all the countries, China was the fastest growing country which itself accounted for 13,031 (31%) certificates.

IATF has set up an IATF Global Database Customer Portal that allows anyone to check the validity of the certification certificates.  This provides a simple mean for any organisation to verify its supplier ISO/TS 16949 certification status.

The benefits of being certified to ISO/TS 16949 Standard includes but not limited to:
a) Quality improvement in product & process,
b) Additional confidence to the customers,
c) Common approach for managing Quality Management System,
d) Reassignment of resources to quality improvement and
e) Be part of the ever growing automotive supply chain.

Interested in discussing your requirements? Let’s talk.

Training  /  Online training  /  Capacity building


Contact Us