Delivering Sustained Success
Countries Regional
  • Blog Header


The new ISO 9001:2015 & ISO 14001:2015

Posted on August 18, 2014 in Articles

ISO 9001:2015 (Based on Draft International Standard, DIS)
ISO 9001, the standard for quality management used by more than one million organisations, is now under review, with an updated version due to be published by end of 2015. The impact of the 2015 revision is expected to be major for parties involved in quality management i.e. the standard user, certification bodies, accreditation bodies and consultants.

Currently, the ISO 9001 is at the Draft International Standard Stage (DIS), which is the fourth of six stages, next two stages being Final Draft International Standard (FDIS) and the publication of the standard. The DIS is now being circulated for comments whereby interested parties can feedback to the experts on the technical committee, the ISO/TC176. Feedbacks are submitted through national member bodies. The final publication of ISO 9001:2015 is scheduled to be released in quarter four of 2015.

What will be the key changes?
The new version will be based on Annex SL, a high level structure that dictates the structure of management system standards. This is to make it easier to use in conjunction with other management system standards. The new standard also has increased emphasis on risk. 

We are certified to ISO 9001:2008. What does this mean to us?
There will be a three-year transition period given to organisations effective from publication of the new standard. Organisations need to upgrade their quality management system to the new edition of the standard within the transition period.

ISO 9001:2015 UpdatesDownload the differences between ISO 9001:2008 and ISO 9001:2015 (DIS).


ISO 14001:2015 (Based on Draft International Standard, DIS)

All ISO standards are reviewed at an interval of five years. Each review will establish if a revision is needed to keep a standard current and relevant. The new version of ISO 14001:2015 will respond to the latest needs and ensure its compatiblity with other management system standards such as the ISO 9001.

Similar to ISO 9001, the ISO 14001 is currently also at the Draft International Stage (DIS) stage and it is being circulated for comments. The technical committee for this standard is ISO/TC207.

What will be the key changes?

In the new version, there will be inclusion of a requirement to understand the organisation’s context for better risk management.  The new version will also emphasize on leaders within organisations to promote environmental management.  There will also be a shift from “improving the management system” to “improving environmental performance”.   Furthermore environmental aspects need to be considered for the life-cycle of the product.

We are certified to ISO 14001:2004. What does this mean to us?
Organisations are given a three-year transition period after the standard is published.

During that transition period, organisations with third party certification will have to seek certification to the new version of the standard. The former version, ISO 14001:2004, and any certification to it, will be obsolete after the three-year transition period.

ISO14001:2015 UpdatesDownload the differences between ISO 14001:2004 and ISO 14001:2015 (DIS).


Interested in discussing your requirements? Let’s talk.

Training  /  Online training  /  Capacity building


Contact Us